19th Sun, 5th Astral Moon, 1571

Of all things… a chocobo. Twelve, they were so beautiful, such a prize for us to have been able to ride, even for a few moments. I could have hopped on the back of that bird, and rode off… towards where the sun dips in to the sea…

But I could not. Could not even get on the thing. The last time I had ridden was in our village… too many memories came flooding back. I could hardly move as the others shouted and cheered.
I was sick to my stomach.

When I gave the bird back I all but ran to join the others. I do not think they saw the flush on my cheeks or the sadness in my eyes. At least, no one mentioned.

I have to occupy myself. I will schedule training… I have to pull myself out of the past…

Move forward, move forward, move forward, move forward…

19th Sun, 5th Astral Moon, 1571